Twitter Party

The last two years, Miss Russell and Mr. Holmes have invited their closest friends (ie, you) to a party in their house on the Sussex Downs. Two years ago (before The God of the Hive came out) we had a lot of hanky-panky in the aspidistra, and last year (for Pirate King) Holmes’ honey wine led to all kinds of piratical shenanigans. There may still be parrots living in the copper beech tree.

Now it’s time for a third garden party, one with a Moroccan flavor. Mrs. Hudson has sent the djellebas out for cleaning, and she’s puzzling over her cookbooks for a hummus dip to go with her cheese scones. Holmes is practicing on his gimbri, Russell has sent for a supply of henna for tattoos, and there will be gallons of mint tea and heavy-duty coffee to counteract the honey wine.

And there will be fun. Did I mention the ridiculous amount of fun? I know, it sounds decidedly odd, to have people all over the globe firing up their computers for a Sussex garden party, but even those too shy (or too slow on the keyboard) to join in find it what Russell might call a singular experience. Join us on Sunday, August 19 at 9:00 PM GMT (or 4 PM Eastern, 3 PM Central, and 1 PM Pacific).

Click to enlarge the invitation.